top of page

Brass Septet 

Three trumpets (Eb, Bb, Bb); three trombones (2T; 1B); Tuba

[includes parts for Bb trombones and Eb & Bb bass]

Duration: 6 minutes


Commissioned by the Gregynog Festival and first performed at Harlech Castle by Septura - Simon Cox, Huw Morgan, Alan Thomas (trumpets); Matthew Gee, Matthew Knight, Dan West (trombones) and Pete Smith (tuba) – on 2nd July 2017.


Duration: 6 minutes


In the Second Branch of the Mabinogi, Brân Fendigaidd is mortally wounded after a battle in Ireland that followed the mistreatment of his sister Branwen ferch Llŷr, who is married to the Irish king. Seven Welsh warriors survive the conflict, among them Manawydan, Taliesin and Pryderi fab Pwyll, Prince of Dyfed, whilst Branwen dies of a broken heart. The mortally-wounded Brân tells the survivors to cut off his head (this being believed to be the home of the soul) and return it to Britain.  


For seven years, the seven surviving Knights of the Head stay in Harlech Castle, where they are entertained by Brân's head, which continues to speak, and where they temporarily forget their sorrow and make merry. 


The piece is divided into four sections: ‘Entering Harlech Castle’; ‘Lament for Branwen’; ‘The Knights venerate the Head and it begins to speak’, and ‘The Knights’ Revelry’.


ISMN: 979-0-57065-020-0




CHRISTOPHER PAINTER: Saith Marchog Y Pennaeth (Seven Knights of the Head)

SKU: 979-0-57065-020-0
    bottom of page